Welcome To Camp Tina’s Eating Establishment

by Living With Morgellons

Image

“camp chef”

I have been cooking one pot meals since my kitchen is in boxes and I have little counter space. Things are under construction here and it doesn’t make for pretty photographs. These have been my excuses for not putting food posts up.

Tonight I decided that is a really lame excuse.

First of all because even on a camp stove some pretty delicious food can be made. Secondly and more importantly, most of the food I have been preparing as of late is perfect for a person on the mend.

It’s perfect because I use one pot. There is no fussy prep and no big clean up involved. I make extra so there is plenty for leftovers. This  is ideal for the person that wants to take it to work or freeze half of it or work the left overs into a meal the next day.

The soup I made tonight was all that and to top it off, every single ingredient is good for you.

I am going to tell you the ingredients and a real quick how to but before I do I am going to say this makes a big pot of soup and it might sound like there is too much garlic or ginger but there isn’t and it works. With Morgellons I just want to gently remind you that garlic and ginger can be your best friend (and of course turmeric).

Gather:

5 sweet potatoes

1 hand of fresh ginger

1 head of garlic

1 bunch of fresh cilantro

1 can of coconut milk

2 tablespoons coconut oil

2 heaping tablespoons of turmeric

sea salt

cracked pepper

cayenne

Peel and dice the potatoes and throw them in a big pot or Dutch oven.

Crush and peel garlic cloves and throw it in (yes the whole head).

peel and slice the ginger and throw it in.

chop the cilantro and throw it in.

Add your can of coconut milk

Add an additional 2 cans of filtered water.

Cook your pot of soup on medium high for about 20 to 30 minutes.

At this point you can take a potato masher to it if you want a chunkier soup. The Ginger will remain whole however. I hit mine with an immersion blender. Alternatively you can scoop some or all of the chunkier bits into a blender then put it back into he pot. That does make for a bit more clean up though.

At the very end is when I add the cayenne, bit by bit until I get the flavor and just a touch of heat. It really works with the sweet of the potato.

Now I am not trying to get all fancy but honestly you can make this soup very pretty and serve it to guests even.

A swirl of cream, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a few cilantro leaves and your off. Now I must be off as I have to serve my dinner guest!

Image

“Sir, would you like cracked pepper with that?”

