“Dear Egg Man”

by Living With Morgellons

  Image

You  may have heard me mention the eggs we get here from the village. There is a fifteen year old girl that keeps chickens and sells the eggs.  They are delicious and beautiful and actually really inexpensive. The girls father delivers them to your door.   I feel really lucky to have access to these super high quality eggs. By the looks of these eggs it is easy to think they are better for me. The girls chickens are not special in anyway except that they just get to be chickens all day long. They cruise around eating bugs and other tiny mysteries. They go in their coop and sleep at night. The next day they will repeat  what they did before, pecking and eyeing and gathering little bits from here and there. I have no idea what they’re thinking. Maybe they aren’t.  Nature is a great and beautiful mystery.

All this doesn’t sound like rocket science or even very exciting but somehow in what seems like random pecking and gathering, these chickens are designing good eggs.  Your best bet to get good eggs is at your local farmers market.

From Mother Nature News:

“The results from Mother Earth News’ latest round of pastured egg nutrient tests are beginning to come in. So far, pastured egg producers are kicking the commercial industry’s butt — woo hoo, go free range! We’ve invested a lot of time and energy over the last few years in researching the differences between the meat and eggs coming out of the commercial industry and those produced by conscientious farmers who let their animals graze on fresh pastures. In the past, we’ve found that eggs from hens raised on pasture, as compared to those commercially raised factory farm eggs, contain:

• 1⁄3 less cholesterol
• 1⁄4 less saturated fat
• 2⁄3 more vitamin A
• 2 times more omega-3 fatty acids
• 3 times more vitamin E
• 7 times more beta carotene

Now we’re looking at vitamin D, which many of us do not get enough of because we don’t spend any time outdoors, and even when we do we use sunscreen that blocks vitamin D production. (More about that here.) Eggs are one of the few food sources of naturally occurring vitamin D, and we wondered if true free-range eggs might be higher in this important vitamin, too. Our latest tests show that pastured eggs have anywhere between 4 to 6 times as much vitamin D as typical supermarket eggs”

Read more: http://www.motherearthnews.com/Relish/Pastured-Eggs-Vitamin-D-Content.aspx#ixzz24eZgwjWF

I was thinking about what eggs mean to our health and how they fit into an organic diet and for a person on the mend like many of us are. I started this blog because i had such amazing success with my diet and returning to health. I wanted to write about food and how the sick person can apply some strategies to accessing and eating better foods. I wanted to concentrate on that area because I realized that sick people often  don’t get good food. Not in a hospital and not at home. When you are sick you are sick.  Gathering and preparing good food  is nearly impossible.  With Morgellons I truly believe that good clean food is going to be one of the biggest areas that the Morgellons sufferer should  invest the little energy they have to go around.  I use my own good  diet and return to health to support this claim. I have nothing to prove. I couldn’t if I wanted to anyway.

As stated, the sick needing to have a better diet then ever before and how we achieve it  while in a compromised state is what I wanted to focus on.  I stray much from that subject because Morgellons  is a complicated subject.  In my mind Morgellons is connected to and affects nearly every aspect of being human.  This  might be why we are seeing the very worst of humanity and the very  best of humanity in all that have to deal with it. I sometimes wonder what the world would be like if everyone had Morgellons or an infliction of similar magnitude. I  sometimes wonder who really is at the top of the food chain. It  seems to me that microbes have been making and breaking the world then making it again for a very long time. So I again have strayed away from and into many subjects.  Morgellons tends to do that to you. I wonder why that is? I will stop now because I just opened another can of worms. Speaking of worms…(just kidding).

High quality eggs might be something you want to focus on when thinking about upgrading your diet.  There is lot’s of evidence that whole organic foods are bringing healing about. I have read that doctors are achieving amazing results when switching their patients to non GMO diets, especially in the chronic and auto immune patients. There are lot of different camps when it comes to what a good diet is. There are those people that believe animal protein is not good for. I am NOT one of those people.   I know that at the height of my illness I craved protein more than ever, specifically red meat and eggs. They made me feel better and I really believe they made my various supplements and herbs work better.

High quality eggs cost more but it’s a good way to get good clean protein when you are “switching over”.  It is a good deal for the sick person because eggs are so versatile. When I was real sick I sometimes ate boiled eggs all day. I was thinking about that earlier today. I forgot how many boiled eggs I ate at times. I did that because you can boil them all at once and get some good protein through out the day. When you are sick not having to cut and slice is great. Eggs have an added bonus of being “already sealed”. If you want packaged fast food that is good, eggs are just that.

This morning I had a couple of soft boiled eggs with good salt and cracked pepper on them.  That simple food always satisfies me. Last night I made a Giant batch of egg salad. Now egg salad seems so basic and it really is. I always make my egg  salad a little diffent using various and different dried and fresh herbs. I like fresh cilantro and loads of crisp diced dill pickle in my egg salad. Sometime I will use fresh dill and use whatever every fresh veg I have to get some crunch in there.  I used to have a boss that was from Uruguay. He preferred his egg salad with curry and olives. It didn’t  sound good to me at first. I learned to love it though.

Last night in my egg salad I used green olives, mustard powder, a little turmeric, purple onions, parsley, mayo and cracked salt and pepper. I think we all liked it because there was none left in the fridge this morning (and it was a massive bowl of egg salad).

Here is a photo of a commercial “high omega egg” compared to a local free range egg :

Image

So due to the incredible egg man the insane amount of eggs he keeps dropping off  I am needless to say making eggs in every way.

Any suggestions?

Imagee

