Home Made Fruit Enzyme Recipe. Very Simple Too!

by Living With Morgellons

Ok this is an updated and “with added information version” of this post. Sorry about the huge amount of typos in the previous post (i was so sleepy last night).  Do go down and read the bottom part of this post as I added in a lot of info. Mostly rambling questions and thought’s  but still I think helpful. Also I would like to say I do believe enzymes are an important part of recovering from morgellons.  I will tell more about my recovery and how I used enzymes in another post.

Fruit enzyme’s:

You guys want to get some eco enzymes going, aka garbage enzymes, also known as fruit enzyme drink? I really tried to get the straight story on “garbage enzyme’s”. As far as I can see this is a fermenting process. I guess somewhere in the mix of microbes there will be some enzymes.  Like I said I really tried hard to find out what exactly happens and what you end up with after you mix your kitchen scraps with brown sugar (or raw honey) and water. Exact info was hard to come by. I do know for a fact though that the end product is a phenomenal cleaner. This much I have seen in action with my own eyes ( a friend of mine makes this stuff).  A quick search around the net and you will see people are using this stuff for just about everything from house hold cleaning to the garden.

The basic recipe is:

10 parts water

3 parts fruit

1 part brown sugar, or honey or molasses

After you make this stuff it has to ferment for 3 months.  After searching and reading I have found that by adding about a teaspoon of yeast the process speeds up to just two weeks. So I went for the added yeast version and sure enough the stuff is bubbling away in the back room. I skipped the brown sugar becasue I think it is junk.  I made various batches using different fruits, raw honey and black treacle (which is as far as I can tell molasses). The last batch I made I took pictures all the way through so I could post a super basic recipe with visual aide. I don’t think anyone can screw this up.  The measurements do not have to be exactly to the drop accurate. What I started with was:

A five liter jug of water

450 grams (2 cups) raw honey

1 grapefruit

1 orange

1 tangerine

1 lemon

1 lime

The first thing you want to do is wash your fruit really well if it is not organic. Even if it’s not organic, wash it well (see Sharon’s comment below) thanks Sharon! Put the fruit in a big bowl or in the sink adding baking soda and vinegar and water.  Weight it with a wooden chopping board or similar because the fruit floats and you want it down under the water.  Let that soak for 2 hours or so. Rinse very well.

Image

Next get a five liter jug. you want the water to go just above the half way point. The water needs to be clean with out chlorine or fluoride. We are trying to cultivate, not kill here.

Image

Next I took a 450 gram jar (or 2 cups) of raw honey and spooned that in. to get all the honey out of jar, I poured about a half cup of hot water in the jar and swirled it around and poured that in too.

Next slice your grapefruit, orange, lemon and lime in half and squeeze the juice out into a separate pitcher. This won’t be added to your fruit enzyme concoction so you can put that on ice and drink it.

Image

Next take the citrus peels and turn them skin down (so they don’t slip around), curl your fingers (so you don’t chop them off) and slice into little thin strips.

Image

Image

I like the strips because they break down easily  and you can slide them right into the opening on top of the jug.  You can use any fruit or veg scrap. If you are using the 5 liter jug and the 450 gram jar of honey then the peel of 1 grapefruit, 1 orange, 1 lemon, 1 lime and 1 tangerine equals the 3 parts fruit you will need. If you have other fruit you want to use just make sure it is 3 parts. You can use the honey jar to measure (3 X’s..easy!) Citrus peels are especially nice smelling.  I have a batch going where I only used citrus peels. In another I mixed citrus peels and pineapple peels.

After you get the 3 parts fruit in there you are almost done. At this point I added 1 teaspoon yeast. This speeds the ferment time up to just 2 weeks. I have others fermenting where I tried it without yeast. Those will have to ferment for 3 months.

Whether you are adding yeast or not cap your mix and give it an up down mix. You know a gentle shake. Then every couple of days because you don’t want your jug to explode. What I did was not tighten the caps completely and each day in the beginning I tighten the cap and turn it upside down to mix and submerge the fruit. This wards off mold growth. I have read that the mold does not affect your product and can be skimmed off. That one is up to you! Personally I run screaming at the slightest evidence of mold anywhere. I had a bad run in with mold in the past (I am literally and figuratively scarred for life). Alternatively you can put a balloon on it or a plastic bag secured with a rubber band around the opening. You need it covered so you don’t attract bugs and such but you need room for expansion.  I do  have a batch going where I used a wine bottle, baggie and rubber band. I used glass because I want to experiment with drinking it. Some asian ladies I know swear by this stuff as a healthful beverage and I tend to believe it because it is similar to rechsregulat. I took the Rechregulat for 2 months with phenomenal results. Oh and here is the giant big bonus round of information. You should try this out for bathing and skin spritzing.  I can’t  make any promises but from what I have heard..it’s good! I will tell you when mine is ready.

Some thoughts: People are reporting that this stuff is an excellent  cleanser. They are washing their  clothes with it and also using it on their body and in the garden as fertilizer. In all of these applications they dilute it. Many blogs and websites tell the appropriate  water to enzyme ratios for various applications. my advice is try different dilutions and use what works best for you. Also remember if you want to use this in your bath do not make the bath hot.  It will kill the incredible enzymes in there. Heat kills them.

If  this stuff is as awesome as everyone says it could be a good deal for the morgellons sufferer. It’s inexpensive and simple to make. You can clean most anything with out toxins  (including yourself). If you make the fruit and honey version then it is drinkable..well that’s what they say.

I am not suggesting anyone drink this. I am saying I am going to try it out and tell you what happens.  It’s just fermented vegetable matter which is BTW very good for us.

I hope a few of you will get batches going and we can all start this together and see if it really does do all that they say. Also if anyone has any suggestions or info please share.  Be sure to write the date on your jug so you will know when it is ready. Real soon here I will be trying some of my batches for various jobs and I will report what I find.

HERE’S WHERE THE ADDED PART STARTS:

Update”s,  Addition”s,  Thought’s and Question’s:

* At the end of the fermenting process you will strain off the liquid and dilute before use.

*The “sludge” is rich in cultures and can be used for another fermenting project. It should act as a good base  as it is rich in cultures. I have read that some dry out this “sludge” and use it as a fertilizer.  As I refine my fermenting skills I will continue to update my findings or disasters (hopefully there will be fewer of the latter).

* Fruit is probably the better choice as many report veg scraps make a foul-smelling product.

* Oh but here is an interesting thought!  I wonder if I were to ferment herbs if I would end up with a product that was rich in the original healing attribute of the herb? Like oregano..would my fermented product be even extra anti fungal (vinegar already is). Or if I used cilantro would my fermented beverage be an excellent mercury chelator? wow I am thinking of some killer lethal combo’s. This definitely deserves some time,  attention and experimentation.

* This fermentation process seems to be vinegar. R2ight?

* It seems to me that this process is first a fruit wine, beer or mead,  as the yeast (wild or added ) eats the sugar content which turns to alcohol. Further fermenting turns the alcohol into acetic acid (which is vinegar..right?) I did make some with pineapple and that does have bromelian  in it which is a fine enzyme for digestion.

* Speaking of digestion, I have seen dragon fruit enzyme health drink recipes on the web. Does dragon fruit have a high enzyme content? it must and i will check it out.

* oh how i would love to get my hands on a load of  mexican  papaya’s.  i wonder if i could find one in Belfast? I am thinking papaya because of the lovely  enzymes’ they are packed with.  If I used papaya skin and seed’s and fermented in the garbage enzyme process would I end  up with essentially a high enzyme papaya vinegar?  seems like it!

* Another thought. if I used  a variety  of high enzyme fruits in a fermented concoction and also added yeast (to not have to rely on wild yeast on fruit skin). Does this first give me a multiple enzyme, fruit wine then as the alcohol converts to acetic acid I have multiple variety fruit enzyme vinegar?  Would it also be ready pronto because of the added yeast?  How is the finished product different in regards to adding yeast or relying on wild yeast (besides the added yeast speeding the process way up)?  Somehow “wild yeast” sounds so much “wilder” and therefore much more lovely.  Maybe if I add just a wee bit of yeast I will end up with a “feral”  vinegar?

*  Wait!   “IS THAT GOING TO ATTRACT FREAKING BUGS?”. Because that would really piss me off.  vVnegar is a known insect attractor!

*Wait wait wait wait.! If the bugs are attracted to vinegar would the acid in it kill them? I know the enzymes will kill them. If you have an enzyme rich vinegar, well that sounds like a deadly insect trap to me?

* Also I have read many accounts that when one uses the garbage enzyme to clean the ants won’t go there.

* I still don’t know exactly what I am ending up with. in the book “Wild Fermentation”  (by Sandor Katz) it says  “some ferments have been shown to function as antioxidants, scavenging cancer precursors known as “free radical’s” from the cells of your body.. lactobacilli create omega-3 fatty acids, essential for cell membrane and immune function. a marketer of “cultured food supplements” boasts that “the culturing process generates copious amounts of naturally occurring ingredients like super oxide dismustase, gtf chromium, detoxifying compounds like glutathione, phospholipids, digestive enzymes, and beta 1,3 glucans”   he also goes on to write ‘frankly, nutritional factoids like this make my eyes  glaze over. you don’t really need chemical analysis to tell you what foods are healthy. trust your instincts and your tastes buds. the data adds up to this: fermentation makes food more nutritious.”

*All this sound great Tina but you still don’t know what you are ending up with. Plus you think too much.

* Ya but I do know it’s vinegar. That’s basic chemistry. Plus i can smell it!  Also if the fruit has enzymes wouldn’t they still be in the brew at the end?  And also you know what I tell people who tell me I think too much, I tell them they don’t think enough. So shut up.

* Did you seriously just tell me to shut up?

* Yes.

* Seriously, are you arguing with yourself?

* Yes.

* I’m outta here.

*Me too!

